About

Hadrian’s Wall Country

‘Hadrian’s Wall Country’ is the brand used to promote the Hadrian’s Wall World Heritage Site as a tourist destination. The Hadrian’s Wall Country brand was researched and developed by the Hadrian’s Wall Tourism Partnership and launched in 2002. The Hadrian’s Wall Trust reviewed and adapted the brand logo in 2007, developing a suite of sub-brands for the bus, railway line, walking, cycling, local produce and guidance on their use.

The Hadrian’s Wall Country brand recognises the wider landscape and cultural context of Hadrian’s Wall. Hadrian’s Wall Country is defined as an area ten miles north and south of the line of Hadrian’s Wall itself and ten miles inland from the Cumbrian coast. Uniquely for a heritage Site, travelling and movement are key parts of the Hadrian’s Wall experience.

The vision for Hadrian’s Wall Country (HWC) is a wide network of inter-connected and distinctive interpretation and activity offers. These will help to position HWC as a multi-faceted destination in which the outstanding natural and cultural landscape contributes significantly to the visitor experience and understanding of the Hadrian’s Wall World Heritage Site (WHS). This in turn will help to establish a desire in visitors and local people to visit multiple locations and to make repeat visits.

Hadrian's Wall Marketing Group

James Fell
Northumberland County Council
Email: james.fell@northumberland.gov.uk
Tel: 01670 624722/0792087119

Jude Leitch
Northumberland Tourism
Email: jude.leitch@northumberlandtourism.co.uk
Tel: 01670 794520

Ian Stephens
Cumbria Tourism
Email: Istephens@cumbriatourism.org

Mark Walshe
Carlisle County Council
Email: mark.walshe@carlisle.gov.uk

Duncan Wise
Northumberland National Park
Email: duncan.wise@nnpa.org.uk

Emily Railton
English Heritage
Email: emily.railton@english-heritage.org.uk
Tel: 0191 2691214/07788568608

Sheryl McGregor
Tyne and Wear Archives & Museums
Email: sheryl.mcgregor@twmuseums.org.uk

Kathy Wilcox
NewcastleGateshead Initiative
Email: kathie.wilcox@ngi.org.uk
Tel: 0191 4405742/07766993925

Andrew Poad
National Trust
Email: Andrew.Poad@nationaltrust.org.uk

Brian Irving
Allerdale Council
Email: brian.irving@allerdale.gov.uk

 

Other Contacts

 

Share this: 

30 for 30

To celebrate 30 years of World Hertiage Status, we've put together a list of 30 things to see and do around Hadrian's Wall.



Places to visit